New Roles in Google Team Drives

There are 3 key changes coming to Team Drives membership roles:

  1. Adding a new role, Content manager, which can edit, reorganize, and delete content, but cannot modify Team Drive membership
  2. Changing the default for new members of a Team Drive to be Content manager, instead of Full access
  3. Updating the names of all roles

Starting in October 2018, the roles in Team Drives will be:

  • Manager (was “Full access”)
  • Content manager (new role, and the default role for new members of the Team Drive)
  • Contributor (was “Edit access”)
  • Commenter (was “Comment access”)
  • Viewer (was “View access”)

While there’s no action required on your part, we’re offering a one-time migration of everyone in your organization with Contributor role to become Content managers. Migrating people with Contributor to Content manager gives them additional privileges to reorganize and delete files in the Team Drive. Content managers will have read/write access to files in Drive File Stream. Drive File Stream users with the Contributor role will still need to access Team Drive files on the web to edit them. We recommend Drive File Stream users take advantage of the Content manager role.

If you want all people* in your organization with a Contributor role to become Content managers, please respond to this form no later than Wednesday, September 26, 2018.

If you do nothing, people with a Contributor role will continue to have the same level of access after the changes are available.

New roles will be available in the latest version of all mobile and web clients. Older versions of the Drive mobile apps won’t support the Content manager role, so make sure to upgrade to the newest version.

Sincerely,

The G Suite Team

*All people and groups in your organization who are members on Team Drives in your organization will be migrated. We will not migrate Team Drive members with a Contributor role that are external to your organization, except in the case where a group in your organization contains out-of-domain members. If a group contains out-of-domain members, those people will also have their role migrated from Contributor to Content manager.

Was this information helpful?

YES   NO
 
© 2018  Google LLC 1600 Amphitheatre Parkway, Mountain View, CA 94043

You have received this important update about your G Suite account because you designated this email address as a primary or secondary contact for mandatory service communications in your Google Admin console profile.